Local ROTC Awards Presented

Compatriots and Friends,

Each year the National Society of the Sons of the American Revolution (SAR) awards the ROTC Medal to foster the principle of the “citizen-soldier,” exemplified by the Minutemen of Revolutionary War days. This award is presented by an SAR Chapter, State-level Society, or the National Society to ROTC or JROTC cadets who are selected for having a high degree of merit with respect to leadership qualities, military bearing, and general excellence. The recipients are selected by the Commanding Officer of the ROTC or JROTC unit.

SAR Bronze ROTC Medal

SAR Bronze ROTC Medal



















A very special thanks to go to ROTC Chair Phillip Mullins and to all of our volunteers helping with our program.  Without them the deserving Cadets in our local High Schools and Colleges would go without the recognition they deserve!

University of Texas Navy ROTC        Max Miller

University of Texas Army ROTC        Henry Shoenfelt

University of Texas Air Force ROTC  Strauss Scantlin

Akins High School                               Robert Hites

Travis High School                              Joseph Burton

Del Valle High School                         Phil Mullins

Bastrop High School                            Bobby and AJ Wohel

Westwood High School                       Jim Clements

Bowie High School                               Gary White Sr.

Reagan High School                            Wayne Courreges

Hutto High School                                Adrian Williams

McNeil High School                             Adrian Williams

Wayne Courreges and ROTC Cadet during Awards at Reagan HS

Wayne Courreges and ROTC Cadet during Awards at Reagan HS

State Convention Awards

Compatriots and Friends,

The Patrick Henry Chapter has been recognized for the following accomplishments for the 2016 year:

Col. J.M Hill Membership award presented in honor of our past President Col. Joe. M. Hill Jr. and is given to each chapter that achieves the goal of 100% membership renewal in the past year.

Banner for 100% renewal

And, the Adrian Drouilhet Award for the Chapter having the most new members under 50 years of age joining the Texas SAR.

Certificate for under 50 Years of ageCongratulations Compatriots!  Keep up the good work!


Hartsell O. Stephens Award to Jeff Gammon

Compatriots and Friends!

Compatriot Jeff Gammon of our very own Patrick Henry Chapter, was awarded the Hartsell O. Stephens by Texas SAR on April 1st for the 2016 year.  The Hartsell O.Stephens is given in honor of Hartsell O. Stephens to the individual in Texas who sponsors the most new compatriots during the year.  Jeff also won this award in 2015.  He has filed 58 accepted applications while he was the Registrar/Genealogist for Patrick Henry Chapter. 

Jeff was appointed Texas SAR Registrar (coastal) in September, 2016.  John Fine has replaced him at Patrick Henry Chapter.

Congratulations Compatriot Jeff.  Keep up the good work!!!

Hartsell O. Stephens Award Jeff Gammon

Hartsell O. Stephens Award
Jeff Gammon

Hartsell O. Stephens Award Jeff Gammon

Hartsell O. Stephens Award
Jeff Gammon

Patrick Henry Chapter has a new Admiral!

During our Annual Christmas Banquet, Wayne Courreges, Commander of the E.W. Moore Squadron of the Texas Navy Association, asked General John Knox to present Jim and Judy Clements with a very special honor.  Please join with me in congratulating Jim Clements on becoming an Admiral of the Texas Navy and and his wife Judy a Yellow Rose of Texas.  These two awards are the highest civilian awards that a Governor of Texas can bestow upon worthy individuals of the Great State of Texas.     

James R. Clements


Commissions are given from the Governor of Texas to certain individuals who have been recommended for this honor.  The Texas Navy Association is historic with the mission of promoting and preserving the history of the Texas Navy.

Judy Clements

yellow-rose-of-texasThe Yellow Rose of Texas Award is given only through the Office of the Governor to recognize women for their significant contributions to their communities and to Texas in the preservation of Texas history, the accomplishments of our present, and the building of the future. The award is named for Emily Morgan, a 20-yr-old slave who was instrumental in the battle to win Texas’ independence, as she gave General Sam Houston’s troops Santa Anna’s location.