Awards, Awards, and MORE Awards!!!

Thank you to all of those who have worked so hard in the previous year to make the Patrick Henry Chapter and the State SAR one of the best in the Nation!  And a special Thank You for our veterans that have served and for the members of our armed forces that are currently serving. 

During our awards banquet the following members and supporters of our chapter were formally recognized:

Patrick Henry Chapter Recognitions:

The Bronze Good Citizenship Award

bronze-good-citizenWayne A. Courreges Jr.

This medal recognizes persons whose achievements are noteworthy in the school, community or state. 





Chapter Distinguished Service

chapter-distinguished-svcJames Reagan Clements Jr.

The incumbent Chapter President may present one medal during his term (or each year of his term if elected to a multiyear term) at the Chapter’s Annual Meeting, to a Compatriot in recognition for that Compatriot’s conspicuous service to the Chapter during the president’s administration.




War Service Medal

war-serviceJames Reagan Clements Jr.
Kent William Lattig
The War Service Medal was first authorized in 1899 for members who served in the Spanish-American War. It was subsequently authorized for members who served in World War I and World War II. Following World War II, the NSSAR authorized a generic War Service Medal with specific service periods indicated by bronze bars.



Military Service Medal

military-servicePeter Flagg Maxson

Adrian Michael Williams

Jeffery David Wise

Jesse Villarreal

It may be presented by a chapter or society to SAR members who have served in the Armed Forces of the United States, Coast Guard, or a country that was an ally of the United States, or in a United Nations Peace Keeping Force, who otherwise do not qualify for the SAR War Service Medal.

The Meritorious Service Medal

merit-svcJeffrey P. Gammon

Jim Horton

Philip Mullins

James A. Nelson

Kenneth D. Tooke

This SAR Member medal is earned for substantial contributions to the SAR over an extended period of time, normally a three to five year period.


The CAR Bronze Medal of Appreciation & Texas CAR Pin
bronze-carHenry E. Shoenfelt II

Presented to a member of the C.A.R. or SAR in good standing in recognition of and in appreciation for outstanding services rendered to a local C.A.R. Society





Bronze Service to Veterans Medal

service-to-veterans-bronzeJames R. Clements Jr.

Jeffery P. Gammon

Robert W. Hites Jr.

This medal is awarded to SAR members who have given long and exemplary service to veterans.



The Bronze Color Guard Medal

bronze-color-guardRobert W. Hites Jr.

This medal is awarded for at least three years of service in the color guard at the state/Chapter level.





Bronze Roger Sherman Medal

bronze-roger-shermanEmzy T. Barker IV

James R. Clements Jr.

Wayne A. Courreges Jr.

Max K. Miller

David S. Smith

The Roger Sherman Medal may be awarded to SAR members who have rendered faithful service to their chapter, state society, or to the National Society over multiple years.

Martha Washington Medal

martha-washingtonJoyce Pipes Jarman        CAC

Betty Sue Bird                  DAR

Carol Martin Castlebury   DAR

This medal maybe presented to a woman over 18 years of age in recognition of outstanding service to SAR.



Bronze Bernardo De Gálvez Color Guard Medal 

Bronze Bernardo De Galvez Color Guard MedalQuinn Baker, James Clements

Wayne Courreges, Robert Hites

Robert Jordan, Ronald Moulton

James Nelson, Henry Shoenfelt

Alexander Smith, Nathan Smith

Jeff Wise


National Society Meritorious Service Award

Zipra Morgan

Texas Society Board of Managers Recognitions:

Texas Society Silver Service Medal

texas-silver-serviceJohn W. Knox

James F. Horton







National Society Abigail Adams Certificate of Appreciation

Joyce Gammon

Monica Nava

Alice Nelson

Eileen Walcik

National Society Certificate of Appreciation

Emzy T. Barker

David Duncan

Monica Nava

Colonel Andrew Jackson McVeigh

Max K. Miller

James Nelson

Henry E. Shoenfelt

Kenneth D. Tooke

Vietnam Veteran Lapel Pin Ceremony

Compatriots and Friends,

Yesterday members of the Ft. Worth, Georgetown, Austin, and San Antonio chapters of the Sons of the American Revolution along with our friends in the Society of Former Special Agents of the FBI dedicated a luncheon to honor our members who are Vietnam Veterans.  Please click on the image below for more pictures of the event:

img_4332To all those at the event and for those who couldn’t make it – Thank you so very much for your service to our great nation!


Jeff Wise Promoted!


Compatriots, please help me congratulate Jeff Wise, our chapter Color Guard Commander as he has been promoted to Captain.  Captain Wise has been a driving force in the recent success of our Color Guard program to include the larger recognition of the SAR posting the colors before the Round Rock Express baseball game on the 4th of July.  His dedication to the SAR is a credit to himself and our chapter!  Congratulations Jeff!

IMG_3899 (1)

Good Citizen Medal Awarded

From left to right: Wayne Courreges, Maj Mai Lee Eskelund, and Jim Clements.
 At the Wimberley Valley Chamber of Commerce Birdies for Business golf tournament Wayne Courreges and Jim Clements presented the Sons of the American Revolution Good Citizenship Medal and certificate to Major Mai Lee Eskelund the daughter of the Woodcreek Mayor Eric Eskelund.
Maj. Eskelund is currently serving as the Regimental S6 for the 3rd Cavalry in Ft. Hood, Texas.  She is a 2002 ROTC graduate from the University of Illinois in Chicago where she obtained her B.A in Psychology.  She completed her Master’s degree in Military Arts and Sciences in 2014 while attending Command General Staff College” her thesis discussed the transition of veterans from Medical Evaluation Board to Veterans Affairs and civilian life.
Wayne Courreges is the President of the Patrick Henry Chapter of the Texas Society of the Sons of the American Revolution in Austin Texas and is a Marine that served in Vietnam.  Jim Clements who serves in the Patrick Henry Chapter as the President Elect and will take office in December 2016.
Our Patrick Henry Chapter is very active in Central Texas where our Color Guard participates in providing ceremonial services in numerous functions every year.
Coming up on Memorial Day May 30th we will be conducting ceremonial services with the DAR at the Texas State Cemetery.  On the 4th of July we always march in the Austin Parade and then we provide the Color Guard services at the Dell Diamond.  On Veterans Day we march in the Austin Parade.