Annual Christmas Banquet

Compatriots and Friends,

We gathered together last Saturday to celebrate another great year of serving and supporting our chapter and the goals of the Sons of the American Revolution!  We had a full house as we recognized the outstanding efforts put forth by our dedicated members and those for our sister chapters in the Daughters of the American Revolution.  We were also honored to have our state SAR President Mike Radcliff and his wife preside over the change of command and the swearing in of new officers for 2017-2019.  And on top of that, we had some really good background music from our resident expert Ron Moulton.  There was in fact so much going on that I think it’s best to break it up into sections!  So without delay here are your Patrick Henry Chapter SAR Officers for 2017 – 2019:

Jim Clements
Jim Clements
President Elect


Ken Tooke

white ,gary

Gary White
Historian  Henry Schoenfelt

max miller

Max Miller
Genealogist & Registrar

 John Fine

John Fine
Color Guard Commander
Robert Hites
Robert Hites

jim horton1

Jim Horton
Past Presidents

Rosebud, TX Christmas Parade 2014 C

Jim Nelson

Wayne Courreges





Jim Nelson




Sgt. at Arms Kris Navarro
Webmaster Adrian Williams

Chapter Meeting – March 19th

Compatriots and Friends of the SAR,

We held our monthly meeting Saturday March 19th at Texas land and Cattle Co and it was an active and productive meeting.  We were fortunate to have a fantastic speaker, Jeff Murreh who gave an outstanding presentation on “the Role of Texas in the American Revolution”.  If you haven’t herd Jeff speak on one his topics check him out over on Facebook at

We awarded two of our Chapter members, John Knox and Kris Navarro, the Bronze Roger Sherman Medal for faithful service to the Patrick Henry Chapter. This medal is awarded for significant service to the Chapter, State, or National Society.  Congratulations on your awards gentlemen.

We also inducted two new members into our Chapter, Ron Moulton, who is now leading our new Drum and Fife group and Conor Kirsch who we hope will become an active member on one of our numerous committees.

Click HERE for images from our recent meeting.

And as always, we look forward to seeing you next month!


Annual Awards and Christmas Banquet

This past Saturday we held our annual awards banquet along with our yearly celebration of Christmas. KR Wood entertained us with his story telling and songs and our guest speaker was William Groneman who discussed his book Davy Crockett – Hero of the Common Man.  As is customary during our year-end meeting, awards were given and several members of our chapter were recognized for their sustained and outstanding performance of their duties as officers of our chapter, as model citizens, and as former military personnel that served in a military conflict.

Distinguished service medal.  The Chapter Medal of Distinguished Service is the highest Medal that can be awarded by a chapter president during each year of his term of office. It is presented to a Compatriot for distinguished service rendered to the chapter during a chapter president’s term of office.

Jeff Wise


Jeff wise accepting his award from Jim Nelson & David S. Smith

Bronze Color Guard Medal

Jeff Wise

War service medal

Max Miller & Andrew McVeigh III


Max Miller accepting his award from Jim Nelson & David S. Smith

 Bronze Good Citizenship Medal

Jim Clements, Jim Nelson, & Jeff Gammon


Jim Clements and Jim Nelson Accepting the award from David S. Smith

Bronze Roger Sherman Medal – The Roger Sherman Medal may be awarded to SAR members who have rendered faithful service to their chapter, state society, or to the National Society over multiple years. This medal is awarded for significant service.  Suggested minimum Eligibility Guidelines: Served as an active Officer for a minimum of two (2) years, or Served as an active Committee Chairman for a minimum of three (3) years, or Served as an active Committee Member for a period of four (4) years.

This Medal is named after Roger Sherman (April 19, 1721 – July 23, 1793) was an early American lawyer and politician, as well as a founding father. He served on the Committee of Five that drafted the Declaration of Independence, and was also a representative and senator in the new republic. He was the only person to sign all four great state papers of the U.S.: the ContinentalAssociation, the Declaration of Independence, the Articles of Confederation and the Constitution. Roger Sherman had a large part in what is known as the “Great Compromise”. In 1787 this combined the “New Jersey Plan” which proposed a one house national legislature where each state could cast one vote, and the “Virginia Plan” where representation would be based upon a state’s population. The “Great Compromise” created a bicameral legislature, meaning there will be two houses, one housewill have equal representation, while the other is based on population of the state.

Jeff Gammon, John Knox, Kevin Miller, Max Miller, Kris Navarro, Jim Nelson, Christian Nelson, Tom Ridpath, Henry Shoenfelt, David Smith, Ken Tooke, Ron Walcik, Jeff Wise & Marvin Morgan


Monthly Meeting for December

Patrick Henry Chapter, Texas Society, Sons of the American Revolution held their monthly meeting Sat, December 20th.  It was nearly standing room only as we filled the room with Compatriots and Guests.  Among the many in attendance was our esteemed speaker Bill Johnson who is a decorated veteran of WWII and was wounded during the battle of Iwo Jima, and  Mr. K.R. Wood who sang Texas ballads and Christmas songs.

WWII Veteran Bill Johnson

WWII Veteran Bill Johnson


K. R. Wood Singing Texas Ballads

K. R. Wood Singing Texas Ballads














Many of the chapter officers were in revolutionary uniforms as awards were presented by our out-going President Jim Nelson.  Person’s receiving awards were:

David S. Smith – Chapter Distinguished Service Medal


Ken Tooke – Texas SAR Bronze Service Medal

Jeff Gammon – Texas SAR Bronze Service Medal

Jeff Wise – Texas SAR Bronze Service Medal

Kris Navarro – Texas SAR Bronze Service Medal

Kris Nelson – Texas SAR Bronze Service Medal

Tom Ridpath – Texas SAR Bronze Service Medal

Several Members Receiving Texas SAR Bronze Service Medal: Kris Neslon, Ken Tooke, Tom Ridpath, Jeff Gammon, and Jeff Wise

Several Members Receiving Texas SAR Bronze Service Medal:
Kris Neslon, Ken Tooke, Tom Ridpath, Jeff Gammon, and Jeff Wise

And Wayne Courreges was sworn is as our new Chapter President!

Wayne Courreges Receives Chapter President Neck Ribbon

Wayne Courreges Receives Chapter President Neck Ribbon

For more pictures from our meeting please click HERE